Skip to content

#!Crunchbang 10 Alpha from USB

April 7, 2010

I recently installed the newest alpha of #!Crunchbang Linux 10 “Statler”.

#!Crunchbang is by far my favorite Linux distro, simple, lightweight, minimal, elegant and highly customizable.

In order to get it up and running on my netbook I had to install it to a USB flash drive. Normally I would use Unetbootin and just point it to the .iso, in this case that didn’t work .. here’s what worked for me on my Asus eee 900 (4gig, 900Mhz celeron, 512MB)

The  steps can be found on the #! wiki here: http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/statler_usb_installation

Basically just connect your USB drive to the PC where you’ve downloaded the Crunchbang .iso

run the following command from a terminal

sudo ls -l /dev/disk/by-id/*usb*

that should show how your system recognizes the flash drive (sdb, sdc, etc).. in my case it was sdb and sdb1 (sdb being the main block device)

unmount the flash drive

sudo umount /dev/sbd

then copy the Crunchbang iso to the drive (THIS WILL ERASE THE FLASH DRIVE !!)

in my case I saved the image in my home folder under downloads so I ran:

sudo dd if=/home/lnxr0x/downloads/crunchbang-10-alpha-01-openbox-i686.iso of=/dev/sdb bs=4M;sync

You now have a bootable flash drive with the newest version of #!Crunchbang, The Linux for Minimalists 😉


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

