Skip to content

A Drop in the Box

March 23, 2010

I’ve recently been testing some of the “daily builds” of the newest version of Ubuntu Linux 10.04 (Lucid Lynx). I really like the new default theme and I’ve also noticed they’ve streamlined the default software for daily computing tasks !

Since I’m now using Gnome as my default desktop environment I can easily intergrate Dropbox into my setup. The great thing about Dropbox is that it allows you to sync folders on multiple devices.

So lets say I’m working on my netbook and want to access my work from my desktop when I get home. I save my files to the Dropbox folder on my netbook. Later when I get home I go to my desktop, open up the Dropbox folder .. and BAM there’s my work !!

Simple+Effective+Minimal = Awesome !!!

You get 2gigs FREE space with Dropbox, if you follow the link below you can get an extra 250MB of storage for using my invite 🙂

https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTM1MTM0Nzk

I’ve listed some features of Dropbox below

  • 2GB of online storage for free, with up to 100GB available.
  • Sync files of any size or type.
  • Sync Windows, Mac and Linux computers.
  • Automatically syncs when new files or changes are detected.
  • Work on files in your Dropbox even if you’re offline.
  • Efficient sync – only the pieces of a file that changed (not the whole file) are synced. This saves you time.
  • Doesn’t hog your Internet connection. You can manually set bandwidth limits.
  • View your files on your iPhone or iPod Touch
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

